Mobile menu


Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery, or in Latin: Medicinae Baccalaureus, Baccalaureus Chirurgiae (abbreviated in various ways, viz. MBBS or MBChB, MB BS, MB BChir, BM BCh, MB BCh, MB ChB, BM BS, BM, BMed etc.), are the two first professional undergraduate degrees awarded upon graduation from medical school in medicine and surgery by universities in various countries that follow the tradition of the United Kingdom. The naming suggests that they are two separate degrees; however, in practice, they are usually treated as one and awarded together. In countries that follow the tradition of the United States, the degree is awarded as M.D. or D.O., which is a professional doctorate degree.

All Eighty eight (38 Public Sector and 50 Private Sector) medical institutes award MBBS, including the famous institutes of "CMH Lahore Medical And Dental College and Institute of Dentistry", "Service Institute Of Medical Sciences" (SIMS), Shifa College of Medicine, Army Medical College, King Edward Medical University, The Aga Khan University, Dow University of Health Sciences and University of Health Sciences, Lahore, Khyber Medical University.[16] University of Health Sciences, Lahore awards M.B,B.S degree to all the medical colleges of the Punjab including private sector as well.

JMCP Clock